8661 North 76th Place, Milwaukee, WI 53223 | A Northwest Milwaukee Catholic Parish

Pastoral Council

Pastoral Council

The pastoral council is a group of people, chosen from and by the parish community, who together with the parish director guide, determine the direction of the parish, oversee its pastoral activity and temporal affairs as the community attempts to fulfill the mission of the church.

The council meets the fourth Tuesday of every month (with the exception of July and December) in the Granville Room. These meetings are open to all parishioners.

St. Catherine’s pastoral council is comprised of nine at-large members, the two parish trustees and the parish director. Our current members are:

Sue Niemi, Chairperson

Debra Hintz, Parish Director
414/365-2020, ext. 11
Sue Armacost, Vice Chairperson
Coucil liaison to Prayer and Worship Committee

Les Paulson, Secretary
Rick Korpela, Trustee-Treasurer

Patricia Lehman, Trustee-Secretary
Ralph Boeckl
Council liaison to Human Concerns


Marie Brushafer
Council liaison to Stewardship Committee
Sue Wassenberg
Council liaison to Finance Council

Lyn Keever
Council liaison to Christian Formation

Barbara Holt
Council liaison to Prayer and Worship

Jeanette MacMurdo
Council liaison to Finance Council


Parish Pastoral Council Minutes

August 2016
September 2016 (Annual All Parish Meeting)
October 2016 (Tri Parish Councils Meeting)
November 2016
January 2017
February 2017
March 2017
April 2017
(No May meeting)
June 2017
November 2017

The above documents require an Adobe reader. 

Who can be a council member? How are parish council members chosen?

A council member is required to be a parish member who is a fully initiated Catholic in good standing with the Church. Candidates should have a good sense of the parish and the church today. They need to be able to collaborate with others, be open to exploring different points of view, and be in touch with the needs of parishioners. They need to be prayerful people who are open to the Spirit and willing to serve.
Each year, three vacancies are open on the council, or more if other members resign their position. A slate of candidates is presented to the parish for election on the 3rd weekend of May.

What are parish trustees? How are they chosen?

For civil purposes, every parish must choose two parishioners to serve as trustee secretary and trustee treasurer. Along with the archbishop, bishop, and pastor/parish director, they form the board of directors for the parish corporation. They are entrusted with overseeing the parish’s civil and legal matters.
Trustees must be parish members and at least 25 years of age. They are elected by parishioners for a renewable two-year term at the same time parish council members are chosen. The pastor/parish director can nominate one candidate. Additional candidates must be nominated in writing by ten or more registered parish members.

Prayer and Worship Committee

This committee is responsible for nourishing and giving direction to the liturgical aspect of parish life; providing opportunities for parishioners to deepen their faith through a variety of prayer experiences and liturgical celebration, particularly the Sunday liturgy; identifying the spiritual growth needs of parishioners; and maintaining an ongoing program of education and training for liturgical ministers.
Chairperson: Kevin Senfleben, 262-408-1543 

Christian Formation Committee

This committee helps the parish develop an understanding of its responsibility for the educational mission of the church to all the youth and adults of the parish and makes recommendations to the council regarding all aspects of the mission. This includes such areas as providing direction for the total education of children in the parish school and religious education programs, youth ministry, and formation opportunities for adults.
Contact: Lorrie Maples, 365-2020, ext. 14 or maplesl@archmil.org

Human Concerns Committee

The Human Concerns Committee seeks to discern the needs of people in the parish and neighborhood. It identifies resources to meet those needs and invites parishioners to join its multiple dynamic ministries to reach out to these families and individuals. The ministry works with community groups and other parishes to address the social problems of this community and keeps St. Catherine parishioners aware of peace and social justice issues on all levels. It attempts to extend Christ's love and compassion and follow in his footsteps by showing compassion to those in need.
Chairpersons: Judy Dollhausen, 357-6731

School Committee

This committee serves as an advisory body to the principal. It assists with policy development, identifying and expressing the educational goals and objectives of the parish community, budget planning and public relations.
Contact: School Office, 352-6927


This committee develops ways to invite our parishioners to be involved in the parish through the sharing of their time, talent and treasure. This understanding of stewardship is based on our response to the many blessings that God has given each one of us. We want people to be involved in the parish not simply because we need them and the gifts they can bring. Even more so, we want our parishioners to see how stewardship is a way of life for every Christian.
Contact: Debbie Hintz, 365-2020, ext. 11

Finance Council

The Finance Council provides advice and guidance to the parish director in the administration of parish assets. It prepares the parish budget, any budgets for extraordinary expenditures, and reviews financial statements. It also monitors the financial condition of the parish and assists in the formulation and communication of an annual financial report to the parish community. The council oversees buildings and grounds, including the cemetery, as well as personnel issues.
Contact: Jeff Jaroczynski, 355-9671